« the joys of asterisk | Main | ALPHA: photos.case.edu - The Case Photo Gallery »

July 06, 2005

spam on blog.case.edu?

Anyone else getting spam on their blog? This is one of two emails i've received in the past couple hours...

noallergy1@hey.com
to chod
More options 9:15 pm (14 minutes ago)

An unapproved user has posted a comment on Benjamin Chodroff at Case, on entry #1783 (Firefox Plugin: Case Directory). You need to approve this commenter before the comments will appear on your site.

Approve this commenter:


Edit this comment:

IP Address: 211.75.91.3
Name: allergy relief
Email Address: noallergy1@hey.com
URL: http://noallergy1.pedronetwork.com
Comments:

allergies

allergy relief

allergy control products

allergy relief product

natural remedies

http://noallergy1.pedronetwork.com

--
Powered by Movable Type
Version 3.121
http://www.movabletype.org/

Posted by bec at July 6, 2005 09:31 PM

Trackback Pings

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://blog.case.edu/bec/mt-tb.cgi/1790

Comments

I have been getting a bunch lately as well. They all point to @hey.com and pedronetwork.com.

Posted by: Brian Gray at July 6, 2005 10:28 PM

me too

Posted by: Aaron Shaffer at July 6, 2005 10:45 PM

I think pretty much all of mine have been from e-mails with @hey.com, and I've been handling them via the spam plug-in. I'm very amused that its button is labelled "Go forth and do my bidding".

Posted by: Nicole Sharp at July 6, 2005 11:20 PM

It seems the spammer was attempting to route around the anti-spam measures via Typekey free pass. However, now that the domains are in the Blacklist (probably placed there from Nicole), the user will be blocked before they can ever get through the gate.

Currently, we have two multi-layer spam protection measures. SpamLookup (http://bradchoate.com/projects/spamlookup/) uses a host of measures including IP address lookup of originating commenter or trackback source on bsb.empty.us, opm.blitzed.org, known open proxies, and standard crap IPs; hostname matching, HTTP header weirdness, etc. More info at http://bradchoate.com/projects/spamlookup/wiki/SpamIdentification.

MT-Blacklist is the second layer. If the commenter/trackbacker makes it through SpamLookup, anu URLs submitted are compared against the Blacklist (which includes regex matching in addition to basic URL equality). The Blacklist is updated via any user on the Blog@Case system and via the master blacklist located at http://www.jayallen.org/comment_spam/blacklist.txt.

The upcoming MT 3.2 will employ even more tools (http://www.sixapart.com/pronet/weblog/2005/07/movable_type_3.html). And, in the far future, various federated identity implementations will really strike a blow to the spammers' hearts.

Posted by: jms18 at July 6, 2005 11:48 PM

kitsune anime anime thong

Posted by: Blrgcd at October 30, 2006 02:53 AM

oqapne

Posted by: Trevion Lipscomb at October 31, 2006 02:22 PM

Pioneering screenwriter Nigel Kneale, best known for the Quatermass TV serials and films, dies aged 84...

Posted by: Kelton Gresham at November 22, 2006 10:58 PM

Social networking site MySpace is to block users from uploading copyrighted music to its pages...

Posted by: Alfred Easley at November 29, 2006 12:44 PM

Post a comment

¡Comment registration is required but no TypeKey token has been given in weblog configuration!