December 22, 2006

Cyrus C. Taylor appointed as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Case Western Reserve University

Cyrus Taylor

Cyrus C. Taylor, a particle physicist whose career at Case Western Reserve University spans almost two decades, has been named dean of the College of Arts and Sciences by the university's interim president, Gregory L. Eastwood, M.D.

Taylor, the Albert A. Michelson Professor of Physics and chair of the physics department, has served as the College's interim dean since July 1, 2006.

"Case Western Reserve University had to look no further than its own campus to find a leader who can take the College of Arts and Sciences into the future," said Provost and University Vice President John L. Anderson. "The leadership of the university has listened to its faculty and staff, who have overwhelmingly supported Cyrus Taylor over the past six months and advocated his appointment as their new dean."

In his new role, Taylor will be leading an institution that includes 22 departments and 34 interdisciplinary programs.

"I am looking forward to working with the College's remarkable faculty, staff, students and alumni to further research and teaching in the humanities, arts, and sciences at Case Western Reserve University," Taylor said.

Taylor, who joined the university faculty in 1988, earned his Ph.D. from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. A former Truman Scholar, Lilly Foundation Teaching Fellow and John Simon Guggenheim Fellow, he has published more than 60 papers and given more than 70 invited talks in recent years.

In addition to his work as a researcher and teacher, Taylor has served as chair of the Undergraduate Admissions Committee and the Faculty Senate’s Budget Committee. Taylor also founded the Physics Entrepreneurship Program, which integrates a graduate education in physics with a business curriculum that prepares future scientists to take their discoveries from the laboratory to the market. In recognition of his leadership of the program, Taylor was named a fellow of the American Physical Society in 2003.

Taylor succeeds Mark Turner, who served as dean from 2004 to 2006.

For more information contact Susan Griffith, 216.368.1004.

Posted by: Heidi Cool, December 22, 2006 09:27 AM | News Topics: Administration, Faculty, HeadlinesMain, Provost Initiatives

Case Western Reserve University is committed to the free exchange of ideas, reasoned debate and intellectual dialogue. Speakers and scholars with a diversity of opinions and perspectives are invited to the campus to provide the community with important points of view, some of which may be deemed controversial. The views and opinions of those invited to speak on the campus do not necessarily reflect the views of the university administration or any other segment of the university community.