June 08, 2007

Case Western Reserve University Trustee Assumes New Leadership Roles at Institute of Molecular Medicine


Nobel laureate Ferid Murad, who received his M.D. and Ph.D. at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in 1965 and serves as a member of the university's Board of Trustees, has been named director emeritus of the Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases (IMM).

Murad also will be the Texas Nobel Scholar of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, while continuing as director of the IMM's Center for Cell Signaling and director of the health science center's research program in intracellular signaling.

Murad was awarded the 1998 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine with Robert Furchgott, Ph.D., and Louis Ignarro, Ph.D., for their discoveries concerning nitric oxide as a signaling molecule for the cardiovascular system.

Announcing the appointments, which were effective June 1, UT Health Science Center President James T. Willerson, M.D., said, "We are very grateful to Dr. Murad for his leadership in the IMM and his continued presence among us as one of the world's most outstanding scientists."

The IMM is a research institute established in the early 1990s to investigate the causes of human diseases at the cellular and molecular levels using DNA and protein technologies to reveal disease mechanisms. It is located in a $120-million, 223,000-square-foot new home, the Fayez S. Sarofim Research Building in Houston's world-famous Texas Medical Center.

Posted by: Paula Baughn, June 8, 2007 07:27 AM | News Topics: Alumni, School of Medicine, Trustees, Trustees

Case Western Reserve University is committed to the free exchange of ideas, reasoned debate and intellectual dialogue. Speakers and scholars with a diversity of opinions and perspectives are invited to the campus to provide the community with important points of view, some of which may be deemed controversial. The views and opinions of those invited to speak on the campus do not necessarily reflect the views of the university administration or any other segment of the university community.