June 16, 2008

Case Western Reserve University awards current chairman with highest university honor


The Case Western Reserve University Board of Trustees has awarded distinguished alumnus and outgoing board chairman Frank N. Linsalata, with the university's highest honor -- the University Medal.

Linsalata, chairman and chief executive officer of Linsalata Capital Partners in Mayfield Heights and a distinguished alumnus of the Case Institute of Technology, is the 23rd person to receive the University Medal since the board established it in 1971. The last recipient was Gregory L. Eastwood, M.D., director of the university's Inamori Center for Ethics and Excellence and former interim president of Case Western Reserve, in 2007.

The University Medal is awarded in recognition of leadership, dedication and service to the university, to higher education and to society. The solid silver medal bears the university seal on one side, while the reverse cites the recipient's name and the date the medal was awarded. A diverse committee of university faculty, trustees and select medal recipients recommend new honorees.

"I am very proud, yet humbled, to be recommended to receive the University Medal," Linsalata said. "During my time on the board, I enjoyed the privilege of learning from some of the finest business and academic leaders in the world. They taught me a great deal and they always impressed me with their willingness to work together collegially and cooperatively on behalf of a great institution, Case Western Reserve University."

Incoming board chairman Charles "Bud" Koch received the recommendation and presented the medal to Linsalata at the board meeting on Friday, June 13, 2008.

"I can't think of a more deserving person to receive Case Western Reserve University's highest honor," Koch said. "Frank Linsalata has served the university with distinction and foresight from the time he was a student here. I'm very proud to have served on the board of trustees with him. He will be a hard act to follow." Linsalata will step down as chairman at the next board meeting in October, and Koch will assume the chairman's responsibilities.

Linsalata began serving on the university's board of trustees since 1999. He is the founder and chairman of Linsalata Capital Partners, a Cleveland based private equity firm. During his time on the board, Linsalata served as chair of the trustees' University Relations committee and also has co-chaired the campaign for the Case School of Engineering. In addition, he has served on the Case School of Engineering's Visiting Committee.

Linsalata serves as chairman of Transtar Holding Company and is a director of Diversco Holdings Inc., Lund International Holding Company, Paradigm Packaging Inc. the Tranzonic Companies and U-Line Corporation. Prior to his current positions with Linsalata Capital Partners, Linsalata had an 18-year career with Midland-Ross Corporation, where he rose through the ranks to the position of chief financial officer. Later he served as executive vice president.

Linsalata, graduated from CIT in 1963 with a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering. He was honored with the Kent Hale Smith Award, which is presented to an outstanding CIT graduate. At CIT, he was a member of the Lambda Kappa Chapter of Beta Theta Pi. He earned his M.B.A. from Harvard Business School and did postgraduate work at the Cleveland Marshall College of Law.

Since the university's Board of Trustees established the University Medal in 1971, the following individuals have received it:

  • Joseph T. Wearn, Dean Emeritus of the School of Medicine, 1971

  • T. Keith Glennan, President Emeritus of Case Institute of Technology, 1973

  • Ralph M. Besse, former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1976

  • William C. Treuhaft, former Chairman of the Board of Trustee, 1976

  • Elmer Lindseth, former Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1977

  • John S. Millis, Chancellor Emeritus, 1977

  • Curtis Lee Smith, Chairman of the 1975-81 Capital Campaign and Trustee, 1981

  • Polly Schrenk Bruner, Trustee, 1987

  • Dorothy Humel Hovorka, Trustee, 1987

  • Allen C. Holmes, former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1989

  • Frederick C. Crawford, Honorary Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1991

  • Herman D. Stein, University Professor Emeritus and former University Vice President and Provost, 1994

  • Allen H. Ford, former Chairman of the Board of Trustees and Co-Chair of the Campaign for Case Western Reserve University, 1994

  • Paul R. Frohring, distinguished alumnus, 1996

  • Frank R. Borchert, Vice President for Budgets and Planning, 1997

  • M. Roger Clapp, Honorary Trustee and former Chairman of the Board of Trustees, 1998

  • Anne M. Clapp, double alumna and Honorary Trustee, 1998

  • Theodore J. Castele, double alumnus and Trustee, 1998

  • Agnar Pytte, president emeritus, 1999

  • John F. Lewis, former chair of the Board of Trustees, 2001

  • Tinkham Veale II, distinguished alumnus, 2003

  • Gregory L. Eastwood, M.D., interim president, 2007

For more information contact Laura M. Massie, 216.368.4442.

Posted by: Kimyette Finley, June 16, 2008 01:40 PM | News Topics: Administration, Alumni, Awards, HeadlinesMain, Trustees

Case Western Reserve University is committed to the free exchange of ideas, reasoned debate and intellectual dialogue. Speakers and scholars with a diversity of opinions and perspectives are invited to the campus to provide the community with important points of view, some of which may be deemed controversial. The views and opinions of those invited to speak on the campus do not necessarily reflect the views of the university administration or any other segment of the university community.