August 26, 2010

Faculty Members Honored at Convocation as Distinguished University Professors

The Distinguished University Professors.

At the 2010 Convocation ceremony yesterday, six exceptional faculty members were conferred the title of Distinguished University Professor—a permanent, honorific title that acknowledges the outstanding contributions of full-time, tenured professors with a distinguished academic record of extraordinary research, scholarship, teaching and service.

The designation represents the highest honor the university bestows on a member of its professoriate, and it is be granted to no more than 3 percent of the university's tenured faculty.

“Case Western Reserve is blessed to have many exceptional faculty,” said President Barbara R. Snyder. “These are people who are trailblazers in their fields, trusted advisers, and tireless university citizens. These are individuals whose intellect, talent and dedication to set a standard that both awes and humbles all who know them.”

One faculty member, Arthur H. Heuer, Kyocera Professor of Ceramics, has held the honor of University Professor for several years. Yesterday, President Barbara R. Snyder added “Distinguished” to his title. The other honorees are Cynthia M. Beall, S. Idell Pyle Professor of Anthropology; Richard E. Boyatzis, H.R. Horvitz Professor of Family Business; Robert C. Elston, chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics; Richard W. Hanson, the Leonard & Jean Skeggs Professor of Biochemistry; M.C. “Terry” Hokenstad Jr., Ralph S. and Dorothy P. Schmitt Professor at the Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences; and P. Hunter Peckham, Donnell Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Orthopaedics.

Beall is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and last year received the Franz Boas Distinguished Achievement Award from the Human Biology Association. Her studies of human adaptations at high altitudes have influenced scholars from a broad range of disciplines; her ability to explain her research in highly compelling and accessible ways has drawn widespread acclaim from both colleagues and students.

Boyatzis is an internationally renowned scholar of emotional intelligence and leadership. His best-known book, Primal Leadership, sold about 800,000 copies and has been translated into 28 languages. He also is known as a passionate and captivating teacher and mentor.

Elston’s impact on the fields of epidemiology and biostatistics is profound. Two of his articles alone have been cited nearly 2,000 times, and in each instance the discovery described since has been known, in part, by his name, as in the Elston-Stewart algorithm. He is a brilliant and highly productive scholar, who is also regarded as a generous and insightful mentor.

Hanson is a pioneer in the area of metabolic regulation, a person known to the world as the father of Mighty Mouse, the genetically engineered creature who could run fast for hours and never grow weary. He is revered by colleagues and students alike as an exceptional collaborator and mentor.

Heuer is renowned for his success in discovering how to make certain materials stronger and more resistant to corrosion, his work with biological ceramics and his advances in the science of Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems as it applies to materials. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Hokenstad is an acknowledged leader of social work education–not only in the United States but around the world. He has served on the United Nations panel that drafted the International Plan of Action on Ageing. He also served as dean of the Mandel School of Applied Social Sciences for nearly a decade and developed and chaired its doctoral program on social welfare.

Peckham is passionate about improving the quality of life for people who have lost physical function because of injury or disease. As the leader of the Functional Electrical Stimulation Center, he has tapped technology to bring movement to stilled limbs–and shown generations of engineers and medical professionals the profound impact of bringing innovations out of the laboratory to those who need them most.

Learn more about the Distinguished University Professor honor.

Posted by: David Wilson, August 26, 2010 11:39 AM | News Topics: Faculty

Case Western Reserve University is committed to the free exchange of ideas, reasoned debate and intellectual dialogue. Speakers and scholars with a diversity of opinions and perspectives are invited to the campus to provide the community with important points of view, some of which may be deemed controversial. The views and opinions of those invited to speak on the campus do not necessarily reflect the views of the university administration or any other segment of the university community.