Two Earn Jackson Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring

jackson.jpgSharing anecdotes about life as an undergraduate and a young professional. A willingness to go beyond the role of an instructor or teacher. Getting to know students as individuals and learning of their interests, goals and ambitions. Guiding and offering academic and career advice as needed. Providing opportunities in and out of the classroom for students to be successful. These and other attributes are what gave the edge to this year's recipients of the J. Bruce Jackson Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Mentoring.

Daniel S. Akerib, chair and professor of the physics department, and Creg Jantz, assistant athletic director and director of sports information for the physical education and athletics department, will be presented with the annual award during the Commencement Convocation on Sunday, May 20 at the Veale Convocation, Recreation and Athletic Center.

Read more about Akerib and Jantz.

Campus News

As Case Western Reserve University prepares to welcome Barbara R. Snyder as its new president, University Archives has developed a Web site describing the presidents who have led the university from 1830 to 2007.

Reminder: Beginning May 14, the United States Postal Service will implement new postage rates. The expected postage increase is different from past postal hikes, as the rates will vary according to the shape and size of the mail piece. To read a more detailed outline of the new rates, visit the U.S.P.S. Web site.

For Faculty & Staff

Two Supervisory Briefing Sessions for managers and supervisors focusing on the topic of "Non-Retaliation/Protection for Whistleblowers" will be held from 10 to 11:30 a.m. on May 15 in the Allen Memorial Medical Library's Ford Auditorium, and from 2-3:30 p.m. on May 17 at the Wolstein Research Building, Room 1413.

For Students

This section will only be updated occasionally during the summer. For general university information please visit the "Campus News" section.


The university is hosting "Touch the Technology" from 10 a.m. until noon on May 14 in Thwing Center ballroom. The purpose of the event is for faculty and staff to learn about the latest mobility technology trends. Light lunch served after the meeting. Attendees can vie for a chance to win an iPod courtesy of Sprint Nextel. Send e-mail to Bob Sopko, or call 368-1522.

Patti Beckman Berman (DEN '84, '86) of the School of Dental Medicine and her family have organized their fourth one-mile walk/run called "The Race: Kids Making a Difference One Step at a Time," on Mother's Day, May 13, in Legacy Village in Lyndhurst to benefit breast cancer research. Registration begins at 8 a.m., followed by the race at 9 a.m. Proceeds benefit the Cleveland Clinic Taussig Cancer Center. Visit the race Web site for details and fees.

Et al

Case Western Reserve University recently announced the appointment of Patrick Crago as associate dean of the Case School of Engineering. In his new role, Crago will oversee the majority of the school's daily operations, including those related to education and research. Celebrating his 30th year as a member of the faculty, Crago has served as the Allen H. and Constance T. Ford Professor and chair of Case's nationally ranked Department of Biomedical Engineering since 1999.

The following students are winners of the 2006-2007 Dorothy Pijan Student Leadership Awards: Greek Woman of the Year, Tracy Gosen; David E. Michael Greek Man of the Year, Matt Hurley; Outstanding Member -- Undergraduate Student Government, David Gasser; Outstanding Member -- University Program Board, Brad Collins and Nick Noble; Outstanding Member --Residence Hall Association, Grace Bell; Outstanding Orientation Leader, Cierra Chiwanga; Outstanding Freshman, Bruce Douglas; Outstanding Sophomore, Jill Jones and Myles Nickolich; Outstanding Junior, Valbona Bushi; Outstanding Senior, Brad Gill; President's Award, Elyse Moretti; Outstanding Student Organization Adviser, Megan McKenna; the Patricia B. Kilpatrick Outstanding Service Award, David Gasser; Outstanding Student Club/Organization Member, Rob Kinsey; Outstanding Member of the Media, Richard Balazs; Individual Community Service Award, Joanna Lopez; Share the Vision Leadership Award, Demetrius Colvin and Jacqueline Greene; Outstanding SI Leader, Thomas Teets; Outstanding Commuter Student, Barak Daon; and Quality of Life Award, Melissa Leuch.

May 11, 2007

A daily newsletter published by the Office of Marketing & Communications, Case Western Reserve University. Submit items for inclusion to:

Case in the News

HP and Synopsys award Babbage grant to Case School of Engineering

Fabtech, May 10, 2007
The Case School of Engineering has received a Charles Babbage Grant to develop software, training and equipment levels.

Moms are different in color

The Ledger, May 11, 2007
Ellen Garbarino, a marketing professor at Case Western Reserve University, discusses the evolution of television moms from the days of black and white to color screens.

KSU professor is named to elite science academy

Bedford Times Register, May 10, 2007
C. Owen Lovejoy, internationally recognized as a preeminent biological anthropologist in the study of human origins, has been elected to membership in the prestigious National Academy of Sciences for excellence in original scientific research. In addition to his post at Kent State University, he is a member of the orthopaedic surgery department at Case Western Reserve University.

Higher Ed News

Harvard task force calls for new focus on teaching and not just research

New York Times, May 10, 2007
Nine Harvard University professors are leading an effort to rethink the culture of undergraduate teaching and learning.

Other Events

All Events >>