Possible Scam: iphoneunlocking.com

iphoneunlocking.jpg

So if you are one of the few customers that bought an iPhone, you might have heard of iphoneunlocking.com, which "claims" that they can unlock the phone so it can be used on other mobile networks instead of being limited to AT&T (Cingular).

But it's a scam. Right now, they are gathering e-mail addresses so you would get the "notice" when they find a way to unlock the iPhone. There are also reports of the site asking for your iPhone's IMEI number. Do not give this out.

With the IMEI information, they can clone them to other iPhones and use them to free-call for short periods of time. Such an attempt will get your IMEI blacklisted and bricked.

Yes, your mobile phone can be unlocked so it can be used on various providers but there is no official word on the iPhone as of yet.

Do not trust this site. Disable your javascript and try to submit your e-mail address. You will see why it's a fake.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Here is the Registrant Info of this domain from godaddy.

Registrant:
UniquePhones, Inc.
11th Floor
115 East 57th Street
New York City, New York 10022
United States

Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com) Domain Name: IPHONEUNLOCKING.COM
Created on: 18-Feb-06
Expires on: 18-Feb-08
Last Updated on: 27-Jun-07

Administrative Contact:
Schrader, Jeff
mail@uniquephones.com
UniquePhones, Inc.
11th Floor
115 East 57th Street
New York City, New York 10022
United States
2125316253 Fax --

Technical Contact:
Schrader, Jeff
mail@uniquephones.com
UniquePhones, Inc.
11th Floor
115 East 57th Street
New York City, New York 10022
United States
2125316253 Fax --

Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.MEDIATEMPLE.NET
NS2.MEDIATEMPLE.NET

Trackbacks

Trackback URL for this entry is: http://blog.case.edu/james.chang/mt-tb.cgi/14304

Comments

gravatar

Posted by: Ryan
Posted on: July 2, 2007 06:32 PM

They updated their blog instead of the unlocked iphone counting tag today, so if you see this, you might not wanna say it is a scam.

gravatar

Posted by: Edmund
Posted on: July 10, 2007 02:29 PM

Thanks for notifying this scam. It really looks like a database gathering exercise. ;-)

gravatar

Posted by: Killian
Posted on: July 11, 2007 12:12 AM

Oh, please it's a total scam. The blog says that they're coming close to unlocking the iPhone but they already have claimed to have unlocked more than 22 thousand units. Which one is it? Also, the grammer on the website is poor, which is on par with scams from third world countries, etc. I'd avoid these folks at all costs untill they prove themselves. Just my two cents.


gravatar

Posted by: Steve
Posted on: March 10, 2008 02:16 PM

Office address is a 'virtual office', adding weight to the possibility that this is a scam. Sadly, I parted with $16 before discovering this. The site that conned me was www.uniquephones.com.

gravatar

Posted by: Tyler M.
Posted on: March 17, 2008 09:00 AM

This is a scam and their suppose address is fake:

115 East 57th Street, 11th Floor
New York NY 10022

They're hundres of bogus companies listing this address. Hmm, sounds like a total SCAM to me. If if looks like a SCAM, sounds like a SCAM - it's a SCAM.

gravatar

Posted by: Mary
Posted on: May 2, 2008 11:57 AM

This address is also linked to zim products, which is to send groceries to those Zimbabweans unable to get food or fuel in Zimbabwe. You are supposed to pay in US$ and the products are supposed to be delivered in door to door in Zimbabwe. This is absolutely not cool!!! Particularly with the situation in Zimbabwe at the moment!!!

Thanks for notifying go this scam. It really looks like a database gathering exercise.

Hi guys,

This is a total scam. I bought an unlocking code for my blackberry 8820 from www.uniquephones.com for US$: 50,00 and I never received anything from them. I sent several (I mean dozens) emails asking for the statutus of my order and they completely ignored me. No response at all. As simple as that. This is so frustrating.
SO, NEVER BUY FROM WWW.UNIQUEPHONES.COM
If you read the website you'll think you can trust them. But for sure you'll lose your money like I did.
www.uniquephones.com
TOTAL SCAM.

gravatar

Posted by: iPhone Girl
Posted on: June 29, 2008 02:51 AM

his is a scam and their suppose address is fake:

115 East 57th Street, 11th Floor
New York NY 10022

They're hundres of bogus companies listing this address. Hmm, sounds like a total SCAM to me. If if looks like a SCAM, sounds like a SCAM - it's a SCAM.

Post a comment





If you have entered an email address in the box, clicking this checkbox will subscribe your email address to this entry so that you are notified if any updates or additional comments occur on the entry.