case western reserve university



March 06, 2014

CSWE celebrates Mandel School's Herman Stein and Terry Hokenstad

2014 Hokenstad and Kendall CSWE.JPGToday the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE) announced:

"In celebration of Social Work Month, Women’s History Month, and World Social Work Day (March 18, 2014), CSWE has published a paper celebrating the life and work of the late Katherine A. Kendall (former CSWE executive director) and two of her colleagues and former CSWE presidents, Herman Stein and M. C. “Terry” Hokenstad, for their many contributions to social work education domestically and internationally."

In 1991, the International Association of Schools of Social Work (IASSW) created an award in Kendall's honor. Dr. Herman Stein, who was a dean of the Mandel School and a former president of IASSW, won it in 1994 (he passed away in 2009). Dr. Terry Hokenstad (pictured with Katherine Kendall), also a former dean and Distinguished Faculty Professor at the Mandel School who serves as a United Nations' NGO representative for IASSW, won the award in 2004.

The newly-published paper, American Contributions to Global Social Work: CSWE Recipients of the IASSW Katherine A. Kendall Memorial Award, provides an overview of the achievements of these three CSWE leaders and their many contributions to social work education around the world. Read the paper here on the CSWE website.