THIS BLOG HAS MOVED AND HAS A NEW HOME PAGE.

October 03, 2011

Amazing goal

A soccer player scores a goal with a header from inside his own half.

What is surprising is why the goalkeeper was so far out of position. You can see him in lime green right at the beginning near the opponent's goal and could not get back in time to guard his own goal.

Trackbacks

Trackback URL for this entry is: http://blog.case.edu/singham/mt-tb.cgi/25793

Comments

The goalkeeper wasn't "out of position", he was upfield helping his team try to score. Odd Grenland led 2-1 in the 90th minute when it happened.

http://uk.soccerway.com/matches/2011/09/25/norway/tippeligaen/odd-grenland-ballklubb/tromso-idrettslag/1061047/

It's better to be trying everything and lose by two than not try and lose by one. It's still three points no matter what the score.

I predicted that before I even looked it up. This sort of thing happens all the time in hockey. If a team is down by one goal (sometimes two) late in a game, the coach will pull the goaltender and replace him with a sixth skater. Unlike soccer, hockey goalies are not allowed to cross the centre line except to go to the bench, so they have to be replaced.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpiNFQQTHlk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2oGeqT8W8I

.

Posted by P Smith on October 4, 2011 04:31 PM

Well, that explains it. I don't watch much soccer but in the few games have observed had never seen a goalie even cross the center line, let alone go so far into the opponent's territory.

Posted by Mano on October 4, 2011 04:36 PM

To whomever that was -

Outside the 18 yard box, a soccer goalkeeper is exactly the same as any other player on his team, able to kick and pass the ball, but also unable to touch the ball with his hands. A wandering goalkeeper who touches the ball deliberately outside the box will get a red card.

This is why goaltenders wear distinct colours from each other, from their teams and from the referee and linesmen. They can be easily identified by the referee when teams are inside the 18 yard box (most cases) but also the rare times when one goalkeeper goes upfield to get involved in the play.

Posted by P Smith on October 4, 2011 05:53 PM

It does happen from time-to-time and usually in the last few seconds of the soccer match. In Europe goal keepers have been known to leave their goal and enter the opposition goal keepers area ... the theory being that due to their height the goalkeeper is more likely to head the ball from a corner and score the winning goal ... but very rarely does this tactic prove successful.

Posted by durham on October 6, 2011 08:02 AM

Take a look at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dut-uGCO-8 the final goal towards the end of the video is scored by the goalkeeper and highlights the tactic I described above.

Posted by durham on October 6, 2011 08:10 AM

Good header and very lucky to be fair.
You better see this:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8unrUfZRQVs
its funny how ref sends him off after the goal.

Posted by maori on October 6, 2011 04:44 PM