Case Western Reserve University’s School of Law Jessup Team Advances to International Competition in March

News Release: Tuesday, March 6, 2012

CLEVELAND – A team of law students from Case Western Reserve University has won a spot in the International Rounds of the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition, to be held in Washington, D.C., from March 25 through 31.

In Chicago at the Jessup Super Regional Competition about a month ago, the Case Western Reserve Jessup team went 4-0 in the preliminary rounds, and then beat Valparaiso in the quarterfinals, Northwestern in the semifinals, and Duke in the final round. The two top teams out of the 24 competing in the Super Regional (Case Western Reserve and Duke) now advance to competition for the White & Case Jessup Cup against qualifying teams from about 120 countries.

Case Western Reserve Jessup team members are Cameron MacLeod, Tyler Talbert, Katelyn Kraus, Hyder Syed, and Effy Folberg. MacLeod won the award for best speaker in the final round. Former Jessup regional champion Conor McLauglin, now with the Thompson Hine law firm, and Professor Michael Scharf, director of the Frederick K. Cox International Law Center, coached the team.

The Case Western Reserve Jessup team has consistently been strong, winning regional competitions six out of the past eight years, the World Championship Round in 2008, and the Baxter Award for the World’s Best Brief in 2011.

Now in its 53rd year, the Jessup is the world's largest moot court competition, with participants from over 500 law schools in more than 80 countries. The competition is administered by The International Law Students Association, a non-profit organization of students and lawyers who are dedicated to the promotion of international law.

The competition is based on a simulation of a legal dispute before the International Court of Justice of the United Nations. This year's Jessup Problem focuses on issues of jurisdictional immunity, humanitarian intervention after a coup d'etat, and destruction of cultural property.

Posted by: Marvin Kropko, March 6, 2012 09:42 PM | News Topics: Official Release